Ten ways to achieve up to a 10% increase in conversions in just 400 months...
Posted: Tue Dec 03, 2024 7:05 am
Don't we all dread the day when our company's C-suite executive asks question D: "What's your conversion rate for the month?"
Our hearts race, and as we swallow our words, we wish the moment was over.
What if instead of dreading this day, you were excited for it?
No, it's not a far-fetched dream; you can do it!
This is the dream of every brand, and through this article, we will take you on a journey that will help you turn that dream into reality.
Ready to get started?
Let's dive right in!
What is conversion rate and why is it important?
First things first: to drive higher conversions, you need to know what it really means and why it's so essential to your business.
Conversion rate is the percentage of users who completed the desired action. It can be one or several, from a website or ad click to an email response or a product purchase.
Conversion goals vary depending on a company's business goals and objectives, which may or may not change over time.
Conversion rate can be calculated by dividing the total number of conversions by the total number of visitors or audience size.
For example: If Brand X targeted 15,000 people with a Facebook ad, of which 500 people clicked on it, the conversion rate would be 3%.
500/15000= 0.03 or 3%
Why is it important?
Conversion rate is an important metric to analyze the effectiveness of your marketing plan , it conveys:
How well your website, app or ads are performing
Where do you get the most conversions from?
Which marketing nigeria phone number library medium and channel should you focus on the most?
How well are people giving in to your call to action (CTA)
How can you improve your conversion rates?
By analyzing and studying your conversion rates well, you will be able to come up with a strategy and ways to improve it to obtain better results.
Across all industries, the average landing page conversion rate was 2.35%, but the top 25% converted at 5.31% or higher.
Source: Smart Insights
Source: Smart Ideas
So, you need to hack and analyze your marketing efforts to achieve a high conversion rate for your business,
As?
Let's get into it.
How can you track conversion rates?
There are various ways and tools through which you can track your conversion rates. Let’s understand which ones are the best:
1. Heatmaps
Heatmaps are a visual representation of user behavior and actions on your website, displayed through graphs. It shows where and how your users spend their time and how you can improve it.
image6
These issues detected by Heatmaps can be a contributing factor to your low conversion rate because, let's face it, we want our website to be perfect or at least close to perfect.
Here are some things commonly identified by heatmaps that can hinder your website's conversion rates:
Confusing navigation
CTA Placement
Poor mobile website optimization
Messy home page
Read more about heatmaps and how to use them to improve your conversion rates here .
2. Google Conversion Tracking
When you advertise with Google, it allows you to set up a conversion tracking tool to track conversions alongside your ads.
We know that click counts are not an effective measure of ad success, so to optimize our efforts, achieve a good ROI, and justify our ad spend, we need to track them.
image14
This tool shows you what happens after people click on your ads, focusing on the action they take. It depends on the conversion action you decide on and the desired action you want your users to take.
Could be:
Website Actions: Purchases, Signups, and Other CTAs
Phone calls: Calls made directly from your ad
Install the application
Local actions
It can be very beneficial to understand user behavior to guide your future strategies.
3. Recording and playback of sessions
Session recordings are a great way to gain insights into how users navigate your website. These are mostly recordings of the user’s actual actions on the site through clicks, scrolls, page turns, and taps.
image8
It's almost like being the person who is scrolling and can help you understand user behavior, what you can improve, and how you can do so, increasing conversions.
Finding out if your CTAs are correctly placed, if users are taking the desired action, or what is causing them to abandon your website can substantially help you make better decisions in terms of conversion rate optimization.
Check out Hotjar's Ultimate Guide to Session Recording for more information on this.
4 Google Analytics
Google Analytics allows you to track your conversions based on goals you set, which can be both macro and micro goals.
For example, if you have a software website, your conversion might be a free demo of the product. So every time someone visits your site and takes this demo, the conversion is recorded and you can view it in Google Analytics to calculate your conversion rate at the end of the month.
5. Customer surveys
When you analyze what's causing a low conversion rate, instead of assuming, what if you could get the answer directly from the user?
Customer feedback and surveys are a great way to get sophisticated feedback from your users, which you can work on without testing or analyzing.
This can be done by including a feedback form on the website after a purchase.
Here are some questions you might want to add:
How would you rate our website/app on a scale of 1 to 10?
Which feature did you like the most?
Do you wish we had something more?
How we can improve your experience
These questions can be multiple choice or opinion based depending on your data requirements.
Pro Tip: When analyzing data, consider leveraging big data analytics software if there are large volumes to go through.
Our hearts race, and as we swallow our words, we wish the moment was over.
What if instead of dreading this day, you were excited for it?
No, it's not a far-fetched dream; you can do it!
This is the dream of every brand, and through this article, we will take you on a journey that will help you turn that dream into reality.
Ready to get started?
Let's dive right in!
What is conversion rate and why is it important?
First things first: to drive higher conversions, you need to know what it really means and why it's so essential to your business.
Conversion rate is the percentage of users who completed the desired action. It can be one or several, from a website or ad click to an email response or a product purchase.
Conversion goals vary depending on a company's business goals and objectives, which may or may not change over time.
Conversion rate can be calculated by dividing the total number of conversions by the total number of visitors or audience size.
For example: If Brand X targeted 15,000 people with a Facebook ad, of which 500 people clicked on it, the conversion rate would be 3%.
500/15000= 0.03 or 3%
Why is it important?
Conversion rate is an important metric to analyze the effectiveness of your marketing plan , it conveys:
How well your website, app or ads are performing
Where do you get the most conversions from?
Which marketing nigeria phone number library medium and channel should you focus on the most?
How well are people giving in to your call to action (CTA)
How can you improve your conversion rates?
By analyzing and studying your conversion rates well, you will be able to come up with a strategy and ways to improve it to obtain better results.
Across all industries, the average landing page conversion rate was 2.35%, but the top 25% converted at 5.31% or higher.
Source: Smart Insights
Source: Smart Ideas
So, you need to hack and analyze your marketing efforts to achieve a high conversion rate for your business,
As?
Let's get into it.
How can you track conversion rates?
There are various ways and tools through which you can track your conversion rates. Let’s understand which ones are the best:
1. Heatmaps
Heatmaps are a visual representation of user behavior and actions on your website, displayed through graphs. It shows where and how your users spend their time and how you can improve it.
image6
These issues detected by Heatmaps can be a contributing factor to your low conversion rate because, let's face it, we want our website to be perfect or at least close to perfect.
Here are some things commonly identified by heatmaps that can hinder your website's conversion rates:
Confusing navigation
CTA Placement
Poor mobile website optimization
Messy home page
Read more about heatmaps and how to use them to improve your conversion rates here .
2. Google Conversion Tracking
When you advertise with Google, it allows you to set up a conversion tracking tool to track conversions alongside your ads.
We know that click counts are not an effective measure of ad success, so to optimize our efforts, achieve a good ROI, and justify our ad spend, we need to track them.
image14
This tool shows you what happens after people click on your ads, focusing on the action they take. It depends on the conversion action you decide on and the desired action you want your users to take.
Could be:
Website Actions: Purchases, Signups, and Other CTAs
Phone calls: Calls made directly from your ad
Install the application
Local actions
It can be very beneficial to understand user behavior to guide your future strategies.
3. Recording and playback of sessions
Session recordings are a great way to gain insights into how users navigate your website. These are mostly recordings of the user’s actual actions on the site through clicks, scrolls, page turns, and taps.
image8
It's almost like being the person who is scrolling and can help you understand user behavior, what you can improve, and how you can do so, increasing conversions.
Finding out if your CTAs are correctly placed, if users are taking the desired action, or what is causing them to abandon your website can substantially help you make better decisions in terms of conversion rate optimization.
Check out Hotjar's Ultimate Guide to Session Recording for more information on this.
4 Google Analytics
Google Analytics allows you to track your conversions based on goals you set, which can be both macro and micro goals.
For example, if you have a software website, your conversion might be a free demo of the product. So every time someone visits your site and takes this demo, the conversion is recorded and you can view it in Google Analytics to calculate your conversion rate at the end of the month.
5. Customer surveys
When you analyze what's causing a low conversion rate, instead of assuming, what if you could get the answer directly from the user?
Customer feedback and surveys are a great way to get sophisticated feedback from your users, which you can work on without testing or analyzing.
This can be done by including a feedback form on the website after a purchase.
Here are some questions you might want to add:
How would you rate our website/app on a scale of 1 to 10?
Which feature did you like the most?
Do you wish we had something more?
How we can improve your experience
These questions can be multiple choice or opinion based depending on your data requirements.
Pro Tip: When analyzing data, consider leveraging big data analytics software if there are large volumes to go through.